Five Years: I Need a New Helmet

It’s been five years since I was sitting on the side of the road, unable to walk, and wondering what the hell did I do to BMW to deserve this.

It was September 30th 2010 and I had just had the worst crash of my life. Not that I thought of it that way for years, though I knew it wasn’t good.

However, I bring this up now not only to mark the anniversary, but also to note that I need to start looking at new helmets. My Arai Profile is now 5 years old and that is what all motorcycle helmet makers say is the shelf life of the foam that keeps your noggin safe should the worst happen.

This is a bigger milestone for me in someways, I have worn a helmet out. All my previous lids have been retired due to forcible contact with the road. having to get a new one because it got old is just… weird.

Good though, and I don’t want to jinx myself but it means I haven’t crashed in five years!

Let’s hope that I can keep that up and go another helmet (or 20) with out crashing.

Old Arai Front Old Arai Helmet

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Five Years: I Need a New Helmet

  1. motoventures says:

    I’ve often wondered if the 5 year mark really is a hard and fast point to buy another helmet. Don’t get me wrong, a new helmet is a worth while investment. I just wonder if it’s as absolutely necessary as manufacturers make it sound.

    • MotoCynic says:

      This is an often debated topic. I did a bit of research on this when writing this post. There are no real studies that I could find.

      Styrofoam and glue do degrade over time and it’s your head so it seems like a good thing to error on the side of caution on.

      • motoventures says:

        Agreed! If a bad financial dip kept me from buying a new one then I wouldn’t stop riding; however, a new one seems like a wise choice if the piggy bank allows it!

  2. John says:

    Good for you! I retired one Arai due to a crash and another from old age. Love the old age retirements! Seems weird to stop using a helmet that looks perfect but you have to. My old lids are displayed on top of the kitchen cabinets!

  3. Coldyeti says:

    That is one cool looking helmet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

