Changing Gears: Longer lasting Chain?

I’ve been riding everything in the garage the last couple of weeks. When I went down to pick up the ST2 after having its charging issues fixed I dropped off my FrankenMonster to see about an annoying oil leak from my cam belt covers. It was not leaking a lot, but enough that it was dripping on to my exhaust which was making quite a bit of smoke. It is embarrassing to sit at a stoplight with smoke pouring off your bike and pretending like you don’t notice…

While it was in there I decided to have them put on a new chain. After talking to Mike for a bit about it he suggested putting a heavier chain on it and see if we could get more miles out of it. (I’m notoriously hard on chains) Since we were replacing the sprockets at the same time this was a good time to do the swap as it required a different sized front sprocket to fit. The end result is that I have different gearing now, it is not a lot different, but it is not exactly the same.

Looks so nice and clean. Sprokets are lighter weight... cause I need to be lighter and faster?

Looks so nice and clean. The sprockets are lighter weight… cause I need to be lighter and faster?

The side effect of the change is that I’m now more tempted to ride a little faster (don’t tell my mom)… since the new gearing means that 5250 rpm is 75 mph instead of 72 mph. This may seem crazy, but below 5000 rpm on the freeway the engine is just not happy, it tends lug just slightly and lacks the immediate torque I need to accelerate easily. So just a little above 5k is my happy zone, enough that I don’t immediately fall below 5k if I run into a head wind or go up a hill.

It is not the end of the world, I’m still nowhere near the fastest person on my commute to and from work so I suspect I’ll be fine. It will be interesting to see how all this effects my gas mileage though.

The main thing to focus on is to really try and get the most life and miles out of this chain. I need to be much better about maintenance. I hope that this will be easier now that I have space to work on the bike.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in FrankenMonster 695, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Changing Gears: Longer lasting Chain?

  1. Paddock stand, break cleaner and chain wax. 20 minutes and done. Too easy man.

  2. Paddock stand, brake cleaner and chain wax. 20 minutes and done. Too easy man.

  3. Ry Austin says:

    Smoke from the exhaust at a stop?… Just tell any ridiculers that yours is a rare, and therefore very valuable, 2-stroke Ducati motorcycle.

    Ahhh, few things are smoother than a new chain and new sprockets. Nice.

  4. lanie belluz says:

    I got 12k on my first monster chain.

    • MotoCynic says:

      I’ve been lucky to get over 10k on my chains… but like I said I have a bad history of maintenance. Something I hope to be better about now that I have a garage. So 12k sounds decent.

  5. motoventures says:

    I put mine on the center stand, spray the chain with Simple Green, use a 3 sided chain brush while spinning the wheel, then coat it with really good chain lube/wax. I ride 9 miles of dirt every day on my commute and I have had great success using this method!

Leave a Reply

