Ducati ST2: Charging Forward

Life has been keeping me pretty busy lately. My brother is doing great on the bike, and my house is nearly livable, however I’m behind with writing about riding.
Luckily for my sanity I’m still on two wheels nearly everyday. This is made easier when you have three motorcycles in your garage. Or would if one wasn’t always at the shop.

The Ducati ST2 which is living in my garage on loan from my friend in NYC was at the shop for a while waiting for parts to fix its issues with charging the battery. It turns out that the stator was begining to go but the regulators were also shot so we replaced everything and it’s running great.

I ended up riding it for a few days while I left my bike in the shop to look at an oil leak.

The ST2 is a big old bike, fast on the freeway, but a bit of a beast to wrangle through the twisty bits. I’m sure I would meld with it if given enough time, but I’m not sure that long term I want a bike that big or heavy. I know it seems crazy to complain about a bike that only weighs 460 lbs, but it is nearly 100 lbs heavier than my FrankenMonster.

However, two wheels no matter how big is still better than four!

She rocks on the straights and the sweepers... the tighter bits not so much.

She rocks on the straights and the sweepers… the tighter bits not so much.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Motocycling, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ducati ST2: Charging Forward

  1. Pingback: Changing Gears: Longer lasting Chain? | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

