Slowest Is Not Safest

My brother is getting up to speed. I mean this both literally and figuratively. Funnily enough one of his biggest problems for the first few thousand miles was going fast enough. I don’t mean just riding at the speed limit, I also mean accelerating hard. He just isn’t like me, accelerating is one of my favorite things to do.

The idea that speed kills has been something we’ve been hearing forever. Certainly it is a phrase that I can’t recall ever not being in my world.

In general principle I agree. Going faster gives you less time to make good decisions and if things go wrong the consequences can be much worse.

Like most things, anything is ok in moderation. There is a time and place for solid acceleration. Being able to put yourself where you need/want to be is very important when riding. Being able to avoid the idiots in cars is important! Motorcyclists are small and squishy and need to use the advantages we have (speed and size) to be in the safest spot on the road. Typically this is the part where there are no cars nearby.

 

In a related note here is a video that takes down the speeding is always bad idea.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slowest Is Not Safest

  1. Ry Austin says:

    Using enough throttle in especially trying off-road terrain has been one of my greatest challenges as a continually developing dual-sporter. Wonderfully, this season seems to have offered breakthroughs in that respect.

    Yeah, we think we’re all tough and macho, looking like superheroes in our leather, latex, and helmets, but really we’re just “small and squishy”. That sounds like a confession for a support group: “Hi, my name is Ry Austin, and I… I… I am small and squishy.” 🙂

  2. Ry Austin says:

    Oh, boy… I’m blushing a bit right now: I was thinking “textile” and typed “laytex”. Don’t know what the hell that was about. I blame the beer. ☺️

  3. Dan says:

    Fun fact: the originalus national 55mph speed limit was in place mostly to reduce gas consumption. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Maximum_Speed_Law

  4. Well said! Especially “small and squishy”.

Leave a Reply

