New Brakes on the SV650S (First Motorcycle Project in New Garage!)

Strangely enough I’ve never put new brake pads on a motorcycle before…

My brother’s new to him SV650S’ brakes seemed soft to me, but it wasn’t until I had another friend ride it that I could confirm this. Once I knew for sure that his brakes were not as good as we liked I looked into possible solutions. I suspected that new pads were going to be the answer and after a little research I was confident that this was the right first step. I ended up getting some Vesrah sintered pads from my mechanic at Nichols, he has an SV650 and said they were the best he has used. I figured that was enough for me and rode over and picked them up.

All that was left to do was find the time to put them on.

Here we are in the garage with all the boxes putting on new brake pads.

Here we are in the garage with all the boxes putting on new brake pads.

It isn’t hard to replace brake pads on disc brakes, and I’ve done it on my cars several times. It is even easier to do on a motorcycle. No jack needed and wheel to remove, just take off the caliper and replace the pads. My brother and I as complete motorcycle brake replacing novices did it in less than an hour.

It was a nice break from working on the house. Spending some time in the garage (I have a garage!) working on the bike was pretty awesome it would have been even better if I didn’t have to keep running upstairs for tools. Hopefully soon I’ll be done using all those tools remodeling the kitchen and I can get them down into the garage where they belong.

From the Report I got from my brother when he got home the brakes seem better, which is good. New brakes mean he can be safer (and faster).

IMG_4783

Working on the motorcycle, one of the simple pleasures in life.

Working on the motorcycle, one of the simple pleasures in life.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

