The Realities of Learning to Ride a Motorcycle

It has been over 9 years and over 100,000 miles so my memories of learning to ride are not the best. However, watching my brother go through the learning process is definitely bringing some of them back.

He’s done about 500 miles so far, and starting this past Monday he has been commuting on the motorcycle. The end of last week and this past weekend were filled with motorcycling for him. A rush of getting as much riding in as his brain could handle. He’s doing pretty well but has had his share of adventures so far. One of the scariest things was that he ran out of gas on his second time out on the freeway… He dealt with it pretty well, but it was terrifying to hear about later. After that adventure at the gas station he dropped the bike and broke the clutch lever. Luckily these things were handled with relatively little stress.

I’m trying hard not to dump information on him, trying not to overload him. While still wanting to make sure he gets all the information he needs to stay safe out there. (For example making sure he was careful about watching his fuel light.)

There is a bright side to all of this, it was pretty awesome though to go for our first ride together on Friday. It’s been a long time coming, and despite the slow pace and my worrying the entire time it was fun.

It was a good day on the motorcycles.

It was a good day on the motorcycles.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, New Rider and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Realities of Learning to Ride a Motorcycle

  1. Ry Austin says:

    Did dropping the bike discourage your brother at all?

    I remember I was terribly discouraged the first few times I dropped (or went down on) my F800GS: Over 13k miles on a Vespa hadn’t prepared me all that well to ride a very tall and seemingly heavy motorcycle. Now when I go down (seldom, and always in rough off-road terrain), I have totally earned it–it’s something to be proud of.

    • Otterpop says:

      Nah, honestly wasn’t that bad. My mom had brought me gas, and my buddy that I was suppose to meet at the mechanics had shown up as well, so I was in good company and the drop was at almost a dead stop.
      The bike is a salvage title, so while I don’t want to break it putting a few more scratches on it isn’t going to stress me out.

      • Ry Austin says:

        Well-done and best of luck to you. This world needs more motorcyclists.

        I look forward to reading about your future adventures and your rides with your brother–good stuff, man, good stuff. 🙂

  2. vinnychoff says:

    I ran out of petrol recently after 30 plus years of riding bikes. i always reset my trip odometer rather than using the low petrol light but had been working on the bike and cleaned the tank out. I put the petrol back in. So when i went out a few weeks later I had forgotten to allow for this use of gas. lucky i pushed the bike 500 yards to a petrol station where it conked out.

    • MotoCynic says:

      Luckily you were close to a station. I’m pretty careful, since my commute home has a 20 plus mile stretch with no easy access to a station. (Basically I need to make sure I can make it home before getting on the freeway.)

  3. Awesome! I remember when I taught my Dad how to ride. It was scary, but so much fun!

Leave a Reply

