The Road to Laguna Seca: The Long Cut

Nothing worth while is easy, and as a motorcyclist I understand that to mean never go the fastest route, always go the long way around. We this in mind I planned our ride down to Laguna Seca for the WSBK races. When I was done we rode about 300 miles more than we needed to and it was pretty magnificent.

Luckily the drama with the battery on my friends ST2 did not ruin the riding, it did make getting home from the race a bit more stressful, but by that time most of the riding was done.

So our Route was basically the reverse ride of my Plan B ride from the spring. I wanted to try to ride some roads we had not done before, but with my house being still a construction zone I did not have the time to find my butler maps and I figured I would stick with what I knew would be good solid roads.

The first day was a great day for riding, and while I am still not a fan of Coalinga Rd. it wasn’t as bad the second time around. We stopped in Coalinga for lunch and took a break from the heat which out there was in the high 90’s. Luckily it wasn’t too bad when moving and the stretch of 198 from Coalinga to Peach Tree Rd. is really good at keeping a good place going.

Peach Tree Rd. itself isn’t too great, really the only point of interest along Peach Tree Rd is where my friend crashed a few years ago. However, it leads on to greatness. My friend really enjoyed Indian Valley Rd. it is a fun wandering along the edges of the hills through the valley. The only danger we faced were the fear of running over a chipmunk, who were all heading home across the road, we had a couple of near misses and saw about a dozen in all run across the road in front of us.

Paso Robles was a great spot to take a break for the night. We had some good wine while we waited for the battery to charge up, and the more great wine with dinner with a nice dinner. I was not expecting it to have such a nice little down town area, but I guess people need to retire to somewhere.

The next day we made a realively straight ride to the track, with only small detours to ride Santa Rosa Creek Road and Hwy One up the Coast instead of the faster but much more borring run up 101.

Santa Rosa Creek Rd. was a gem the last time I road it in the spring and still is amazing even in mid summer in a drought. Lovely twisty road but one that encourages a slower pace and just enjoying the day.

When planning the trip I was worried about Hwy 1 up the coast, I was mentally prepared for several hours of being stuck behind motorhomes and tourists who have never need a road curve before. I was pleasantly surprised. It was a glorious ride, only occasionally interrupted by people driving 15 mph below the posted limit, and most of those were easy enough to get around in the few legal passing areas.

The sights along Hwy 1 almost always make up for the slow drivers, but I was glad we had a good run of it.

Highway 1

Camping at Fox Hill was fun as always and the only excitement was the battery issues and the fact that Chaz Davies dominated on the Ducati so over all a great weekend. The real lessons learned was that motorcycles are awesome and that we  need to do this more often so my friend says up to date with his “moto skillz”.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Road to Laguna Seca: The Long Cut

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

