Compression: It’s a good thing

I took my FrankenMonster in for it’s first 7500 mile service on the new engine. I was worried when my mechanic called and asked if I noticed anything weird when riding the bike.

More Power? Sometimes.

More Power? Sometimes.

I just thought it was the price I had to pay for more power. The FrankenMonster seemed to be running fine, and was plenty fast (most motorcycles are) so the fact that the power seemed meh below 5,000 rpm at highway speeds was just one of those things.

Nope, it’s because my vertical piston was only holding about 25 psi under compression. In comparison the horizontal was holding 140ish. Apparently the valves were all out of alignment. They did the adjustment and now the compression is normal.

Normal is oh so much better!

I can’t say that I feel that I have that much more horsepower overall, but man I have plenty of torque everywhere. Which is great for just being in one gear on a twisty road and zipping along.

Since I got new tires as well I had do take it easy for the first 50 ish miles, but on my way home on Friday of last week I decided to test the “new” engine. So I took Calaveras Rd. home. The torque is great!

 

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in ducati monster 695, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Compression: It’s a good thing

  1. Valves still open during compression stroke? Something specific to the Ducati valve train timing or just an oversight?

Leave a Reply

