Ducati Monster: Oh how I know thee

I’ve ridden nearly 85,000 miles on my monster and my wife has over 15,000 on hers. There is a lot you can learn about a motorcycle when you have 100,000 miles on the make and model.

Most of the time this is a good thing, even when it means you know that it’s bad news, you do know exactly what bad news it is.

Which means when I saw a couple of drops of oil under my wife’s bike on my clean garage floor the other day  I was pretty sure I knew what the problem was. The chain was loose and sure enough it had nicked the cases once too many times creating a crack, and oil was getting out. Blerg.

Speaking of problems with the lovely wife’s bike, it looks like the oil pressure sensor is done. This is another fairly common problem and I’ve had problems with this on my motorcycle as well. Apparently eventually oil gets in the sensor and kills it. Luckily it is a relatively inexpensive part and an easy fix.

I’ve already got the oil sensor and I’m ordering a chain to replace the old one. I’m also looking to get one of the plates that I have on my bike to prevent this from happening again. It’s that and I’ll try and keep a better eye on her chain tension.

Sprockets Wife Monster2Sprockets Wife Monster

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ducati Monster: Oh how I know thee

  1. lanie belluz says:

    Yeah, that makes me cringe looking at that. That looked similar to when I blew the cylinder on mine – stuff was caked all over. I had a 2003 Monster 620 – I loved it but it was a very dirty bike – I could never keep the engine clean. I sold it when I suspected it needed new seals.

Leave a Reply

