My Rules for Lane Sharing

Any discussion about Filtering, Lane Splitting, Lane Sharing, or whatever you call it will certainly divide a room. People definitely have an opinion about it, and I do sometimes get sick of talking about it with non motorcyclists. With my commute beintg much more intense these past few months I’ve been doing a lot more of it, and while doing so I’ve come up with my own rules for Lane Sharing. These are my personal rules, ones that I follow because I think the are a good compromise between progress and safety. By no means am I suggesting that this how it has to be done. (Just that it is the best way since I do it)

  1. Don’t lane split when cars are still going ~45 mph or faster. Really it’s way more dangerous and won’t get you home that much faster.
  2. Try and keep your speed differential between you and the cars to less than 25 mph. At 25 mph things are moving about as fast as you can reasonably react to them. Many people (including the CHP) say slower but anything less than 15 mph is really quite slow.
  3. Don’t speed. If the speed limit is 55, than that’s the fastest you should be going while taking advantage of our awesomeness. And like I said above it really makes things so much worse the faster you are going if things do go pear shaped.
  4. I also really try to not start lane splitting until the cars are stacked up so they are right next to each other in lanes, making it much less likely that they will change lanes. If there is a gap, there is a good chance someone is going to try and fit their car into it.
  5. Use your highbeam (full beam) to let people know you are coming, don’t rev your engine. I’ve had better luck with people seeing me coming with my high beam, plus your much less obnoxious if you just make your self more visible than assaulting everyone’s ears. Plus your headlight shines forward toward where you want people to notice you and your exhaust points backward to people you’ve already passed.
  6. Treat the space between the cars as it’s own “lane”. Which means look for other motorcyclists before entering it, and watch for those who might be riding faster than you and move over and let them pass.

Those are the most important ones, I might think of more later. Feel free and critique or add your own in the comments.

Not the most fun way to get home.

Not the most fun way to get home.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

