Keeping Me Away From the Keyboard (But not the Motorcycle)

Life.

It’s been getting in the way of my writing. I suspected this might happen once we bought a house but I did not expect it to happen quite this soon.

Luckily for you and me there are motorcycles involved so it’s relevant to this blog!

First a little background. Our new home was built in 1940 was still using a fuse box and only had 30amps coming into it from the power lines. We needed to fix this and redoing most of the electrical is a top priority. So we hired a professional to do the first part which was putting a new box in and getting 200amps to the house. This involved me riding up to the house and letting people in, and then going up again to let inspectors in etc. Every day I did this meant riding 100+ miles, often coming home in heavy traffic. All this riding takes a bit of time, time that I usually use for writing.

Wednesday was when it got especially insane. BART went out of service stranding my Wife in San Francisco with no easy way to get back to our current residence in the East Bay. Luckily for her I was in San Bruno at our new home, and we had already moved some of her motorcycle gear to the new house. Solution: Husband and motorcycle to the rescue! I met her with her gear and we suffered through horrible rush hour traffic home to Fremont.

We made it safely, and I think the trip has reinforced with my Wife the idea that I do need another motorcycle, one more comfortable for passengers!

So this week, not so good for writing, but there was a lot of riding! I’m looking forward to getting some more words down as I find the time. Including updates on anything and everything in my life that involves motorcycles.

The FrankenMonster is not comfy, and unsuited for passengers for more than 15 minutes.

The FrankenMonster is not comfy, and unsuited for passengers for more than 15 minutes.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping Me Away From the Keyboard (But not the Motorcycle)

  1. coldyeti says:

    If you think that’s bad, you should try the Duke 390’s pillion seat! Its like a rock, impractical for pillion!

Leave a Reply

