MotoCynic’s Home Base

*I hope I’m not jinxing myself by starting this before I have the title in hand*

Months of looking and finally after sorting through hundreds of house, going to dozens of open houses, and making over a half dozen offers the emotional roller coaster is over.

I am the proud owner of a Garage! I’m supper excited about this, and look forward to all the things that having a garage means.

  • Even more space to put tools I don’t need.
  • More space to lose those tools when it turns out you actually need them.
  • Space for Xmas decoration storage
  • Storage for things I no longer need

Once all that’s done I hope to have enough space to fit some motorcycles and maybe if I’m lucky enough room to do some chain maintenance.

The FrankenMonster waits quietly outside waiting to come inside.

The FrankenMonster waits quietly outside waiting to come inside.

Seriously though, I have a solemn promise from my Wife that the garage is not to be used as storage and that it will be used to store motorcycles and whatever else I think needs to be in it. Which works for her, since her motorcycle will get to be inside out of the rain along with mine. In addition, if my friend is lucky his motorcycle will be joining in on the fun.

Besides potentionally storing three motorcycles I’ve been thinking hard about how to use my 220 square feet.

Looks rather small here, but then again it is a bit small.

Looks rather small here, but then again it is a bit small.

The Garbage Cans are going to be outside once I build a ramp.

The Garbage Cans are going to be outside once I build a ramp.

My first problem is that if you see how little width I have in the garage you can understand why I was thinking so hard about a lazy susan for my motorcycle. It’s damn hard to turn it around, and not that fun to back down the driveway either. (which I’ve now done a few times)

The very next thing I’m doing is investing in some motorcycle Dolly’s since I need to be able to get the bikes that won’t be in daily use out of the way as much as possible.

For now though I’m still in the planning stage, a kitchen and bathroom remodel are more important to finish in a timely manner since we really can’t live there while these are not working =) And Currently the garage has everything from the storage unit in it since we did not want to pay for that another week.

I’ll keep you posted as things progress, here are a few more pictures to give as complete of a view of my new space as possible.

IMG_4185 IMG_4178 Garage04

http://www.revzilla.com/best-motorcycle-garage-guide

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Garage, Life, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MotoCynic’s Home Base

  1. Ry Austin says:

    Congrats on the carhole (per Moe Sizlack of The Simpsons). It looks to me like moving back–or, if possible, eliminating entirely–the wall in your fourth pic would gain you some workbench and stackable storage space…

    Happy planning.

    • MotoCynic says:

      Sadly I’m locked in on all sides by foundation, so I won’t be able to move walls easily, but I will be able to put a lot of stuff under the house since it’s got a very large crawl space.

  2. coldyeti says:

    A garage is better than No Garage I guess! 🙂

  3. That’s an excellent place to store your motorcycle. Hopefully your wife will be happy with it. Is this garage attached to your home?

    Alex Jennings |

    • MotoCynic says:

      Yes, it is attached, the garage is under the dining room/kitchen. If you look back a couple of posts there is a photo of us in front of the house. =)

Leave a Reply

