Moments on the Motorcycle

Today while getting ready to go home, I got on the bike and started it before I put my gloves on. I wasn’t in a hurry and as it rumbled to life I had a moment of pure joy. I put on my gloves looking forward to the ride and listening to the sound of the engine. The dash was shaking so very slightly with the vibrations of the motor and I just sat there for a little while after putting on my gloves.

I love the anticipation before a ride and I still look forward to just about every time I get on the motorcycle. The exceptions being extreme weather then it’s sometimes hard to look forward to the ride, but these spring days are a great time to be out on the motorcycle.

A few weeks ago I took the old long way home. Roads were dry enough to have a great ride.

A few weeks ago I took the old long way home. Roads were dry enough to have a great ride.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moments on the Motorcycle

  1. Taffrah says:

    Read your post with interest! I have recently passed my full licence and I totally get your sentiment about the anticipation of a ride! I thought it would cease once I had got used to it (I’ve clocked just over a 1000 miles in my first month as a fully fledged biker) but I still get the butterflies! Nice post,and VERY nice bike!

    • MotoCynic says:

      Congrats on the full licence! Motorcycling is amazing, and for some (like myself) once it’s in your blood there is no stopping. Sounds like you might also be addicted. Be safe out there!

Leave a Reply

