Gear: Replacing the Perfect Glove

Six or seven years ago I bought the nearly perfect glove. The Racer Multi-top. My wife got a pair as her first glove and loved them so when my first set of gloves died I replaced it with the same.

They are now dying.

The leather on the thumb has worn through to the Gortex liner.

The leather on the thumb has worn through to the Gortex liner.

They are also no longer being made, and nothing else by Racer looks to be close. So I am at a loss as to replace them with. I’ve spent many hours all over the internet, but primarly looking at:

WebBikeWorld Gloves

All this looking hasn’t really answered my question. Primarily because I don’t know how the Multi-top was classified to begin with. I want a 3 season glove, but nowhere can I find that as a classification. Most gloves that look like they will work are listed as Winter gloves and I worry that they will be too warm. I want something that will be good in the cool days of spring and fall and waterproof for the rain that we (hopefully) get during those seasons. I also used the Multi-top for my winter rides home and summer early morning rides to work. It was my go to glove, one that I always had with me, either I was wearing them or they were my back up glove in case of it either warming up (in the winter) or cooling down (in the summer).

So what am I replacing them with?

I have no idea, I’ve learned that I need to try on gloves to figure out what I want. Since there are somethings apparently you can’t just do on the internet.

http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/revit-phantom-gtx-gloves

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

