Plan B: Highway 58

Highway 58

What to say about this road. I had such high hopes for it since my awesome mechanic friend recommended it, and because of that I only gave it a cursory look on the map. Because of this I had high expectations and it did not deliver.

It leaves highway 101 and immediately begins winding through the hills. Sadly while it seems like any moment you expect to have a great set of curves for miles, it never delivers. Well not before many miles of arrow straight boredom. There was a set of curves toward the end of it that seemed pretty cool, but by the time I reached them on Thursday afternoon I was too disappointed and worn out to really enjoy them.

However, the next morning was a different story. I got up well before dawn and was on the road about 15 minutes before the sun came up. Which means that it was just light enough to really enjoy the twisties when I got to them. It was magical out there for about 30 miles.

IMG_4085

 

The rising sun was beautiful, thankfully it was behind me and not in my eyes.

The rising sun was beautiful, thankfully it was behind me and not in my eyes.

The early morning light was fantastic, and I had a lot of fun riding through the corners chasing my shadow.

It was not quite enough to make Highway 58 one of my favorite roads, but it will always have a fond space in my memory.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plan B: Highway 58

  1. Best time of day to be riding roads like that.

Leave a Reply

