Plan B: Santa Rosa Road to Highway 46

It’s hard for a road to compete with Highway One through Big Sur and down the Coast.

Santa Rosa does it by being completely different. It’s a one lane road, that doesn’t encourage fast riding, it encourages taking your time and enjoying the ride.

IMG_4070

IMG_4073 IMG_4064

 

Looking at the pictures makes me want to get on the bike and ride south again. It was such a fun little road, with nothing but you and the bugs for miles.

If I’m being totally truthful I will admit that I did come across a mail man, and another motorcyclist passed me heading the other way. Other than that I was alone with my thoughts and the beauty that surrounded me. I am struggling to find the words to describe the experience. It was a very peaceful unhurried road, that made you feel like you had all the time in the world and you might as well slow down and enjoy life. So that is what I did.¬†It was definitely worth the extra time compared to taking Highway 46.

Highway 46 is not a horrible piece of road, it curves gently through the hills, but it isn’t anything special. At least it wasn’t straight and boring!

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, motorcycle, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plan B: Santa Rosa Road to Highway 46

  1. Pingback: Plan B: The Whole Thing | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  2. Pingback: The Road to Laguna Seca: The Long Cut | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

