It’s Spring! Stop Crashing!

I don’t listen to the radio on the way to work. I’ve tried once on the motorcycle and found it too distracting. So when my brother sent me a text early one morning asking if I was OK I had no idea what he was talking about.

Apparently there was a motorcycle accident on the freeway that I take to work and he was slightly concerned that it might have been me. I explained to him that I was fine, and he commented that there seemed to be a lot of motorcycle crashes lately. I replied that I wasn’t surprised, it’s spring time and everyone breaks out their motorcycle after the winter and both the rider and the bike are quite likely to not be in the same shape they were at the end of summer the year before.

I ride year round, and I suspect that most of my readers try to do the same, but if you don’t for what ever reasons (I’m not judging… ok maybe a little) I would encourage you to take it SLOW for a week or two and let yourself get up to speed. There is no rush, riding slow can be fun too, a lot more fun than a wrecked bike and possible injuries to yourself will be!

In addition to riding a bit more gingerly, I would also take a good look at the condition of you bike. Brakes, tires, fluid levels, the whole thing could use a good look over.

I just want the best for everyone.  Enjoy the warmer weather!!!

This "road" more like a goat trail was gorgeous, just a lovely wandering thing through the hills.

This “road” more like a goat trail was gorgeous, just a lovely wandering thing through the hills.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Spring! Stop Crashing!

  1. Being in the sub tropics I do ride all year round. Having said that, I’ve noticed a spike in motorcycle crashes, and sadly, deaths since the new year. Not just locally, but all over Australia

    In your neck of the woods, it may be attributed to the winter break. We have no such excuse over here, so the reason for all these accidents is a mystery to me.

    The big question is: How do we fix it?

    Personally, I think ALL road users need an attitude adjustment.

Leave a Reply

