My Aerostich Suit: I Washed It!

I got back from my Plan B ride and just like I always do when I get back from a motorcycle trip I feel like there wasn’t a bug left alive anywhere along the roads I traveled. One look at my suit would seem to confirm that. It was so bad that I did not even think to take a picture of the bug splatter everywhere, I just took it off, emptied the pockets, removed the armor and threw it in the wash.

The last time I did that was in 2010 before I sent the suit back to be repaired after the BMW crash. It was perhaps due for a wash. It was definitely over due to have the water repellent updated (if you recall my adventures in the rain this winter). So after I washed it, I washed it again with some Nikwax to hopefully improve it’s usefulness in the rain.

The other benefit of washing in the Nikwax is that all the zippers work much better now. Much smoother and faster. Now if only the hook and eye on the right pocket would magically fix it’s self…

The suit is much nicer looking! I should do this more often!

Too bad I did not get a "before" picture. It looks so much better. Probably Smells better too!

Too bad I did not get a “before” picture. It looks so much better. Probably Smells better too!

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

