Getting Ready For Death Valley

My Trip to Death Valley is just a couple of weeks away! I did not need to get anything, but that did not stop me from using the trip as an excuse to make a few upgrades to my riding gear. I’ll start with the one I thought was the most essential.

MSR fuel bottles

The 695 with new engine maping is much less fuel efficent than the lean running 620 was. I went from 49+ mpg to 44 mpg which shaves 15-20 miles from my range. It may not sound like much, but going from light on at 150 miles to 120-130 miles is significant reduction in range especially when going to places a little off the beaten track.

Enter my 2 MSR fuel bottles, at nearly a liter each (30 floz) they get me another half gallon of gas and essentially the range I lost back. To be used in emergency only, but will be nice to have as a security blanket. If I had a more adventure ready motorcycle and hard cases I would have probably done something more like these, but since I don’t, I won’t.

It might not look like 22 miles... but that's what it is.

It might not look like 22 miles… but that’s what it is.

Kreiga R25 Backpack

I love my R20, but as I talked about a few weeks ago it’s bigger brother is a better bag. Primarily because it’s adjustments aren’t in straps that easily come loose while riding. Every motorcyclist whose ridden with a bag knows how annoying it is to have a strap slapping against you in the wind.

I wonder how much more pie this one will hold?

I wonder how much more pie this one will hold?

Heavy Duty Phone Charging Cord

Phone Charger New

Last time I did some touring I got a SAE to USB adaptor so I could charge my phone while I ride. It was amazing and one of the best modifications I’ve done to my bike. However the wind takes a toll on the phone charging cord and I had one die after 3 days of use on the bike. Hopefully this one will last longer, I’ll report on it when I get back.

I’m definitely looking forward to getting away and into the desert for a few days, I just hope the weather works out for us. We need rain here, but it would be sad to have the trip canceled because of rain.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting Ready For Death Valley

  1. Its going to be a great ride! Keep safe and watch out for road lizards. Keep cool…

  2. 7acesmotolog says:

    What’s the brand of the charging cable? I could use one of those.

Leave a Reply

