Working on the Details: Planning the Trip (Again)

I shared a few weeks ago about my concerns about my up coming trip to Death Valley. I mean it’s called Death Valley, that alone is reason for concern! Seriously though, I think part of my reluctance about the trip is the fact that since I’m using the same plan I’m worried it will result in the same outcome.

Which is of course crazy, since last time nothing went to plan.

Despite of, or perhaps because of this worry, the need to tinker is great. A lot has changed in the past couple of years and my thoughts of what makes a good motorcycle adventure have changed. (Here is the original Planned Route as of two years ago.)

I’m debating adding camping to the trip. I had a great time moto-camping last year and would love to do it again. However I’m not sure it’s really worth the effort since it is a lot of gear to carry on the bikes and it’s unlikely we’ll camp for more than one night. On the pro side of the camping idea is that it will allow us to most likely stay in Death Valley instead of having to stay outside of the park. This will save us some travel time and wasted miles, perhaps allowing us to see more in the Valley.

In addition to the Camping I’m also looking at this road. That some website listed as one of the best roads in California. Since we’ll be in the area I think we might have to give it a try.

The other thing I’m looking into is a way to carry some extra fuel on the bike, the 695 with it’s new mapping is a bit thirstier than it was with the 620 engine. My range is about 20 miles less than it was, which may not sound like much, but it’s about a 15% reduction in range. So I’m looking into a way to carry another half gallon of gas, just in case…

All Packed up and ready to go.

All Packed up and ready to go.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working on the Details: Planning the Trip (Again)

  1. 7acesmotolog says:

    For the extra fuel try looking at something like the Touratech 2 Liter Spare Fuel Canister. Small and easy to pack. http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/PN-070-0580/Touratech-2-Liter-Spare-Fuel-Canister

    I’ve found that moto camping is best when that’s the goal of trip. If I’m trying to get to a destination or ride a specific route, unless I plan on camping all the way, I don’t camp. It’s all camping or no camping. Otherwise it’s too much gear to lug along for just one or two nights.

Leave a Reply

