The Real Reason I Started Riding Motorcycles

When I tell people why I started riding motorcycles I  normally start with my wife. She is definitely the one who got the ball rolling by expressing interest in 2005 when my close friend in San Diego started riding.

Sometimes I also mention my Dad, he rode motorcycles a lot until I was four years old or so, I have memories of him riding, but mostly I just remember wanting to play on his old Honda CB 350 as it slowly deteriorated in the back yard for a couple of years before he finally sold it after my brother was born.

It’s all lies though, this is the real reason I started riding motorcycles.

http---makeagif.com--media-2-10-2015-b76Dw1

It’s because Robotech was my favorite TV show growing up. Specifically the Third Generation with the Motorcycle Mecha.  Most of them are online here as the original Japanimation: https://www.youtube.com/user/KikoSoseikiMOSPEADA

I still love this show, and when I was in grade school I used to ride my bicycle home as fast as possible so I wouldn’t miss an episode. The entire ride home I would spend imagining that I was riding a cyclone. Sure it’s all a bit cheesy in hindsight, but I’m still absolutely sure this is what was rattling around the back of my mind when my wife decided that she wanted to learn how to ride a motorcycle.

Sadly my FrankenMonster doesn’t turn into a robotic suit that I can crush bad guys with (people who cut me off), but I love it all the same.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Real Reason I Started Riding Motorcycles

  1. Great that it’s on YouTube for you to revisit. And your probably not alone in that sentiment – I bet there are lots of others influenced by this show!

  2. Jason ON says:

    As we already know, the Robotech Cyclone mecha is my fantasy bike, as well. I really wish I had one.

Leave a Reply

