Going to Death Valley, Again…

The trip is planned, I worked it all out a couple of years ago. If you haven’t been reading that long you can read all about it here on the blog. If you rather not take the time the short version is that lots went wrong and a friend nearly got killed by a turkey vulture.

I’ve done a great motorcycle trip since then. I rode up to Portland Oregon last spring and it was amazing.

However, I am still more nervous than excited about this Death Valley Trip. It’s not about riding to Death Valley, it’s because I’m riding with other people. I’m worried they won’t have fun, or worse, and it will be my responsibility since I planned the trip.

None of this.

None of this.

I know in my head that my friends don’t blame me for what happened with the last Death Valley Trip. Everything that happened was just awful luck that stacked up on us that day. My heart though is freaking out and my subconscious is having a field day with all of this. I’m not losing sleep over it, but I just can’t find that excitement that I normally have when a trip is coming up.

So I’m sharing it with you all in an attempt purge the demons in my head.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going to Death Valley, Again…

  1. Chris says:

    I know what you mean about if they’ll have fun on a trip you plan. I often wonder the exact same thing. Will they like the route? Will they like the pace? Are their bladders the same size as mine?

  2. Matt says:

    I’m planning a trip this summer for a few guys at work… multi-day moto-camping run. I’m already sweating the details!

Leave a Reply

