Oh Crap! My Poor Wheel!

So I hit that pot hole a few weeks ago and made that complaint to Caltrans. When it happened I was worried that I messed up my tire, but when I looked at it when I got home I did not see anything. I should have looked closer, since I missed this:

That rim is pretty bent, you can see down to the bead!

That rim is pretty bent, you can see down to the bead!

The reason I missed it the first time was because I was primarily looking at the other side of the tire. I should have known to check both sides. Since the damage is to the left side, it is also the side that is leaning down when the bike is on it’s kickstand. It might have not seemed like much if the tire was in this position.

Can barely tell that anything is wrong from this angle.

Can barely tell that anything is wrong from this angle.

Oh well, lesson learned. The tire is still holding air, but I’ll need to get a new rim soon. I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m pretty sure my awesome mechanics have a plan already.

http://www.dot.ca.gov/damageclaims.htm

http://fohttp://forms.dot.ca.gov/v2Forms/servlet/FormRenderer?frmid=LD0274&distpath=mgmtsvcs&brapath=Legalrms.dot.ca.gov/v2Forms/servlet/FormRenderer?frmid=LD0274&distpath=mgmtsvcs&brapath=Legalhttp://forms.dot.ca.gov/v2Forms/servlet/FormRenderer?frmid=LD0274&distpath=mgmtsvcs&brapath=Legal

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Crap! My Poor Wheel!

  1. that sucks …… will Caltrans be held responsible? Some states do that I am told.

  2. Pingback: That Pot Hole Almost Made Me Crash Again!!! | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

