Riding a Motorcycle Has Changed the Way I Drive

It’s often been said by motorcyclists that riding a motorcycle has made them a better driver. I’m not going to argue with them, but I feel like I would be lying if I said that it has made me a better driver. It really depends on what you mean by better. Riding a motorcycle has definitely changed the way I drive.

I’m a better driver since I’m more aware, and definitely more attentive. I keep a close eye on other vehicles, and my 6th sense for what cars are going to do is much better. I have learned to be aware of the subtle things drivers do before they do something stupid. (lane changes with out signaling, ignoring right away etc.) I think that with this attentiveness I’m less likely to be in an accident.

However, riding a motorcycle  has led me to develop some habits that don’t make me a better driver.  I tend to be less patient, often changing lanes to gain a slight advantage, or to keep a bigger cushion of space around me. Much more than you might normally think you would need to feel safe in a car.  This makes it very difficult to follow me, as my wife found out while we were moving a few months ago. She finally just gave up trying to follow and decided she would just meet me at our destination. The most annoying thing I do now is I forget I’m in a car, and not a speedy nimble motorcycle. Which means I sometimes find myself worrying that I won’t have time to change lanes for an exit. It’s much harder to find room for a sedan!

So am I a better driver? I think the answer would depend on who you asked.

IMG_9932

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding a Motorcycle Has Changed the Way I Drive

  1. So its not just me that see’s those little “tells”. I still maintain that ALL drivers should ride a motorcycle for 2 years minimum just so they understand that they are driving a weapon and not a lounge chair

  2. I have to “drive” just as defensively when on my bicycle. Those little signals and taps on the shoulder by guardian angels are literally life-savers.

Leave a Reply

