Poor Broken Turn Signal

Some days things don’t go well.

Poor Monster

Poor Monster.

I was backing out of my “home” and I should have moved the truck so I had more room, but instead I went into the bushes a bit and did this.  Who knew bushes could be so damaging!

I’m annoyed and not quite sure what I’m going to do to fix it long term. Short term is some duct tape (black cause I’m classy).  I’m thinking of getting an integrated tail light, since that would eliminate the possibility of it happening again as well as hopefully getting me a brighter braking light, which would be nice. I’ve always thought that the brake/tail light on the monster was not bright enough.

To perhaps add insult to injury, while testing my now dangling turn signal to see if it still worked, I discovered that my right hand turn signal did not work. Thinking it was a bulb I got a new one, but when that didn’t work I went looking for a bad connection. I did not find anything but I did not take the entire tail section off to really look hard. However with the looking I did do I must have jiggled something into the right spot since it’s working again. (for now).

Looking a bit sad for a moment.

Looking a bit sad for a moment.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, ducati monster 695, motorcycle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poor Broken Turn Signal

  1. Hi, Sorry to hear of the mishap.
    My little bike has had similar issues after I had an off on a muddy road. Left rear one too. Ended up fitting an oe replacement. Hope your integrated replacement works like you want it too.

    • MotoCynic says:

      Thanks for the commiseration =)
      I’m still undecided on what to do. The duct tape is starting to look bad. (if it ever looked good?) I will post up when I finally make the change (or not).

  2. I understand, I did the duct tape for a day or two until weekend rolled by, then tried to weld the metal arm back to the base plate, that broke again after approx. 100km. the following week.
    Then gave in and got the oe replacement.
    Will look forward to see the fix. Same or integrated.

  3. Pingback: The Illusion of Being Seen | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

