MotoCynic on: Kriega R20 Backpack

I’ve had this backpack for nearly four years, and since I got it I use it almost every single time I get on a motorcycle. Over all I’m extremely happy with it, the R20 is still going strong despite heavy use.

 

My workhouse.

My workhouse.

I got it after years of using a messenger bag, but found that carrying weight on just one shoulder was causing problems. I did some research and found Kriega Backpacks highly recommended. I decided mainly for budget reasons to get the R20. It did not take long for me to fall in love with the bag. Kriega makes it’s bags for motorcycling and it’s clear they ride. Lots of well thought out design. Shoulder straps are pulled in to give full range of movement when on the bike and don’t cut into the arm pits. With the lock in the front it stays in place when riding, and as long as not made too heavy it’s all day comfortable.

The R20 isn’t water proof, but is water resistant and even with all the riding in the rain I’ve been doing lately things have only gotten slightly damp once when out in the rain for over an hour. Not bad considering it’s age!

The other great thing about the R20 is that Kriega has lots of nice products that work great with it. I just got a US10 dry sack which can attach to the outside of the pack for a completely waterproof additional capacity.

Lastly it’s well made, I haven’t had a zipper or anything break in the past four years of daily use.

There are some downsides, the elastic that holds some of the straps has become very stretched out after a couple of years and no longer works, which means they tend to flap about if you don’t tuck them in before riding.

The R20 also only has a one way zipper to get into the main compartment, which once you get used to isn’t a big deal, but isn’t super convenient.

The worst bit is that it isn’t it’s bigger brother the R25 which fixes nearly all the negatives which in my opinion is the straps that tend to come lose as you ride since it uses a double lock across the chest.

In Summary:

Pros: A well made pack that is all day comfortable. Lots of customization with other Kriega products.

Cons: Straps that come loose while riding, it isn’t the R25

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Motocycling, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MotoCynic on: Kriega R20 Backpack

  1. Matt says:

    I recently picked up the R35 and cant wait to test it out this spring. I’m counting on it to carry my gym clothes, shoes and lunch to and from work daily. It sounds like it will be up to the task!

  2. Pingback: Getting Ready For Death Valley | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

