Another Year of Motorcycling: 2014 in Reveiw

I suppose it is a bit cliche to become retrospective at the end of the year, since every moment of every day is an anniversary of something once you’ve lived long enough. However, we have calendars to keep track of time, and I might as well use the end of the year to look back at what’s happened and maybe even plan a bit into the future. Besides it is very cold out and not ideal motorcycling weather anyway, so it’s a good time to think back to warmer times.

2014 was a year of some ups and downs, I guess every year is, and at least no one nearly died running into a vulture while riding with me.

IMG_2547

The biggest highlight of motorcycling this year for me was the five day trip to Portland, Oregon in the Spring. It was a grand adventure and I wish I could ride like that everyday. The trip was useful too, it cemented lots of the stuff I’ve learned over the years about touring and camping on a motorcycle so it went off pretty much without a hitch. (though I might take a small fuel can with me next time)

Another big highlight for the year was having both my brother and a close friend start on their own motorcycle adventures. I’m really looking forward to doing a trip with them in the near(ish) future.

IMG_2512

It wasn’t all springtime rides and practicing in parking lots. There were some lows, hardest to deal with was in September my brand new (to me) engine was destroyed by a poorly installed chain, costing me thousands of dollars. It would have been so much worse if it wasn’t for the amazing help from some great people. Thank goodness my wife let me ride her bike while mine was getting fixed. I’m not sure I would have survived!

Beautiful Day... made very heart breaking.

Beautiful Day… made very heart breaking.

Looking back I’ve also written some decent stuff in the past year. The following were my most popular posts that I wrote last year.

1. MotoCynic Guide: Touring on a Ducati Monster
2. MotoCynic Guide: Motorcycle Camping
3. Faster Does Not Equal Warmer
4. Potland Trip 2014: Motorcycle Camping
5. Why I Ride

Over all a pretty productive year for motorcycling. I’m really looking forward to more adventures this year! Maybe I’ll even make it to Death Valley…

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, ducati monster 695, Gear, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Photos, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

