In Memory of: Passing of a Mentor

We all have them. The people who shaped us into the motorcyclists we are today. I know when I first started riding I was like a sponge, eager for every last nugget of anything to do with motorcycles. I’m not sure I’ve changed much now that I think about it. I had a couple of go to guys when I first started riding one of them the husband of a co-worker, he was really supportive when he found out my wife and I wanted to ride. In fact some of my first riding was on one of his dirt bikes around a parking lot.

I have all sorts of things he said to me, about his philosophy of riding, and his time club racing that make up the rider I am today. I wish I took the chance to thank him, but we lost touch with each other several years ago and now it’s too late.

So I’ll do the only think I can imagine him wanting me to do, keep riding and pass my lessons on to someone new.

I rode around this parking lot for hours when I was first learning to ride.

I rode around this parking lot for hours when I was first learning to ride.

 

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Story and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Memory of: Passing of a Mentor

  1. keep sharing those lessons learned.

Leave a Reply

