Riding in the Rain: I need new gear…

I mentioned a few weeks ago that my new commute (and it not being a drought year) means I’m riding in the rain a lot more than I have in the past few years.

Wet Monster

Apparently my gear has aged in the past few years, and is not longer as weather proof as it once was. I’ve been caught out twice now in a heavy rain with an hour ride home ahead of me. In both instances I got home very wet.

I will repeat what I said about riding in the rain. One of the most important things is to be dry. I was reminded of how important this was a couple of times in the past week or so. Of course the worst bit of my gear not working isn’t the boots and my hands, it’s the flaw in my Aerostich suit. Known as Stich Crotch, or Aerostich Crotch, it’s basically the wet crotch you get when water builds up and then dumps through the zipper at your crotch. Which is an uncomfortable feeling. Basically like you peed your self, but with out the benefit of being warm briefly. Cold wet water on your crotch leaves a lot to be desired let me tell you, but the following 20-40 minutes of riding home sitting in a puddle is also really crappy.

Looks uncomfortable...

Looks uncomfortable…

 

I’m not sure what I’m going to do about my suit, certainly I’m not going to be able to just buy a new one. I think I’m going to start with washing in some water repellent. Then there might be something I can do to the zipper to make it resist water for just a little longer. Hopefully this will help a bit, in the mean time I will not ride to work if it’s raining, getting to work looking like I wet my pants is a little embarrassing but also very uncomfortable. Aerostich does offer a alteration to replace the old zipper with the waterproof ones they use on the new suits. It is not too expensive and I’m thinking about it. However my suit is nearly 7 years (well over 100,000 miles) old, and since I lost a bit of weight last year doesn’t fit that well any more. I find it hard to want to spend any money on the old one when I would rather save it for a new one…

I don’t think I can save my gloves or boots, I think I will try and remember to wear my new gloves if it will be raining, and I might just have to deal with wet feet for a while since the current budget doesn’t have room for new motorcycle gear.

Wet Socks

Luckily my helmet is still water proof, the fiberglass and plastic still keeps the water off my head pretty well! (Though I might want a pinlock visor insert in the near future to help with fogging)

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding in the Rain: I need new gear…

  1. Pingback: My Aerostich Suit: I Washed It! | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

