A Perfect Winter Day

I have friends who live all over the US, over the years nearly all of them have tried to get me to move to where they live. I just can’t do it. I don’t care how awesome New York is, or how good the beer is in Portland, I’m not moving from my motorcycling paradise.

Days like yesterday are why. It’s December and officially winter, yet it was sunny and if not warm it was very nice out, probably close to twenty degrees. (high 60’s if your local) I really wanted to have my old long way home, but even with traffic (which was lighter with the upcoming holiday) my ride home was glorious. For me it takes good weather to really enjoy riding. I enjoy it in all sorts of weather, but to have those moments of motorcycle bliss where I’m just completely in the moment and can’t imagine being happier. Those moments take a combination of good weather and roads and scenic beauty.

I live too much for motorcycling to want to move to those wonderful places, but actually have seasons. I prefer to live in my little part of the world, where even in December I can have a perfect day for riding. I’m not willing to risk living in the snow and miss out on having more of them.

A few weeks ago I took the old long way home. Roads were dry enough to have a great ride.

A few weeks ago I took the old long way home. Roads were dry enough to have a great ride.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Perfect Winter Day

  1. Jealous, Jealous, Jealous but I did get a ride in today, it was rather cold.

  2. dharmaanchor says:

    I’m glad you finally got one good ride home out of the new trek.

Leave a Reply

