It’s Winter: New Gloves Making it Tolerable

I was at the International Motorcycle Show a few weeks ago. Normally I just wander through all the gear vendors, occasionally looking at new helmets, and keep going. This year one of them caught my eye since it was Racer Gloves, the people who made my favorite pair of gloves. (Which sadly they’ve discontinued)

So I stopped and spoke with them a bit, and in the midst of talking about gloves I realized that winter was coming and that the last time I used my “winter gloves” in the wet, the leaked and I was cold and wet. So I asked which were there warmest glove and he gave me these.

Winter Gloves

I liked the fit and they seemed plenty warm and with the show discount not too expensive so I got them. A bit of an impulse purchase, but so far they’re great.

I’ve worn them every morning since getting them and I’ve been pretty impressed with how warm they are. It’s now a bit colder in the mornings with the recent onset of fall here, and warm hands are important for a tolerable ride to work in the morning. They are a bit bulky in the warmer part of the split, but that is to be expected with a winter glove, with out getting heated gloves they only way to get warmth is with at least a little extra bulk.

This have a split layer where you can chose to have warmth all around, or just on the top of your hands. Perfect for when you have heated grips and want the warmth of those to get to your hands, or times when you want a bit more feeling for the controls of your motorcycle.

After a bit of expermentation I’ve settled on just using the warmer option. I’ve gotten used to the extra bulk, and they really are warmer than the more feel option, and I hate having cold hands!

http://www.racerglovesusa.com/advance-goretex-glove/

TL,DR:
Pros: Warm, comfortable fit.
Cons: Pricey, Bulky
Verdict: I’m pretty pleased with them. I’m not sure you can get a winter glove with out the bulk, and these work well. I’ll update once I ride to work a few days in the low 40’s.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Winter: New Gloves Making it Tolerable

  1. lanie belluz says:

    Have you tried heated gloves? Gerbing makes a nice pair!

    • MotoCynic says:

      I haven’t tried them, but given how much it annoys me to plug in my heated vest, I’ve shied away from them. I have thought about installing heated grips however on my bike.

      I just really dislike having to unplug from the bike to walk away from it =)

Leave a Reply

