Thanksgiving: Making it happen on two wheels

Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s been a crazy last few weeks for me. I was taken out by the flu for nearly all of last week, and then when I got back to work this week I was playing catch up at one of the busiest times of the year for us. I’m still struggling to completely recover from the flu, but I was up and riding to work this week. I did this mainly to avoid traffic, because otherwise feeling as off as I do driving would have been easier. It is also easier to get everything home for Thanksgiving in a car, but I was determined to avoid traffic and get home all the fixings… on the motorcycle.

I’m pretty impressed that I managed to do it, Including the nearly 19lb turkey!

When I was planning this I thought the turkey was going to be the tough one, surprisingly it was the pies that were the biggest challenge. It takes me about 40-45 minutes to get home, and I did not have space to fit them anywhere on my bike flat. I was worried that they would slide out of the shells and be ruined. With a co-workers help I got them into my backpack at about a 45 degree angle, then I rode home, hunched over my bike in a racing crouch to keep them as flat as possible. With all the city streets I have to ride, it was not the most comfortable way to get home. We all make some sacrifices for the holiday.

I made it work.

I made it work.

However, the Turkey was much more painful. My backpack/back are not designed to carry nineteen plus pounds for 45 minutes. My back is killing me as I type this about an hour after I got home.

Everything else was easy, yams, onions and the rest easily fit in my tail bag and backpack on Monday.

I’ve definitely earned my Thanksgiving dinner the hard(ish) way!

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

