A New Commute… Ugh

So now that I’m temporarily living somewhere else as we sell our home, I’m dealing with a completely different commute to work.

I go to work early in the morning. Living in the north peninsula I typically left my home about 10 minutes after six in the morning getting to work about half an hour later. My commute home was relatively early because of this. I often left Palo Alto at 3:30 getting home just a little after 4.

As I rode to work from San Bruno for my morning commute I often felt like it was really early to be going to work. It was six in the morning and the roads were pretty empty and I always got the feeling that very few people were up yet. For my afternoon commute home, it was busy, but never was it very heavy traffic unless I left late.

Now that I’m commuting from the East Bay it’s a different story. I’m leaving about 30 minutes earlier than I used to, and I’m amazed at how many cars are on the road. It took me a couple of days to figure out how to get to work with out being caught by metering lights getting onto the freeways. Once I figured out the best route I’ve found that my morning commute is not that bad in terms of how long it takes me. The route  I use to get work makes use of the carpool lanes as much as possible and if I leave on time it’s pretty good.

Not the most fun way to get home.

Not the most fun way to get home.

However, getting home is a different story. Traffic is always heavy heading to the East Bay and if I leave at the time I used to leave it takes me nearly twice as long to get home as it does to work. This is especially frustrating considering I’m on a motorcycle in California with all the benefits of lane splitting available to me. I am not at all used to having to deal with the annoyances of heavy traffic on a daily basis. With how crazy my life has been it took me much longer to figure out a good route home, and it is completely different than how I get to work. However, now after a couple of weeks I finally feel like I know how to get home in a reasonable amount of time. Which is good, I have enough other stuff going ton that I don’t need to stress about traffic.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Commute… Ugh

  1. MIE says:

    i feel your pain

  2. rjbuxton says:

    Your riding in the clip might actually be called ‘weaving’ by any policeman that could be bothered to give chase, The last time I saw this practiced on the road was by a guy on a Ducati and wearing flipflops and TShirt, who had clearly sold his soul to the devil and received amazingly good luck in return. We all have different perceptions of what is a safe riding style, and the camera naturally foreshortens all the angles, but you have much quicker reactions than me, my friend. Ride safe,

    • MotoCynic says:

      It does seem faster while watching it than when actually doing it, but I hear what you’re saying.

      I also had been stuck behind that Harley for a while, the clip probably isn’t the best example of my typical riding, but I don’t record my rides, and so that was all I had.

      I’m actually though working on a post about trying to become more patient with traffic so I don’t end up all over the road.

  3. Pingback: The Illusion of Being Seen | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

