The New Long Way Home!

So last Friday I rode to Nichols Sportbike to get a new rear tire. With the traffic on 680 being so bad heading north anytime after 2pm I was looking at a map trying to see if there was a good way home, and sure enough there it was, Calaveras Road. Twisting through the Fremont Hills. So instead of splitting lanes up 680, I headed west until I was in the hills. Since I had a new rear tire, I took it easy and wasn’t too annoyed to be stuck behind a slower motorcyclist. Eventually they let me past and I rode a little faster, but always keeping it fairly slow since I do not know the road that well and it is only one lane and known to have large construction trucks on it because of work on the dam for the reservoir up there.

Still it’s beautiful up there and it is great to know that I can still take a scenic detour on my way home.

 

Calaveras Road. Just a lovely part of the Fremont Hills. Looking at Calaveras Reservoir in the background.

Calaveras Road. Just a lovely part of the Fremont Hills. Looking at Calaveras Reservoir in the background.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The New Long Way Home!

  1. dharmaanchor says:

    Looks like a gorgeous view.

  2. phil says:

    Oh yeah calaveras is a cool ride. Just gotta watch out for the occasional deer that likes to jump out in front you 🙂 happened to me….close one.

  3. Pingback: Compression: It’s a good thing | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. Pingback: The Longer Way Home | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

