The long way home, google is slower than I am

I took the Long Way Home late last week. A co-worker asked how many miles it was out of my way. I couldn’t remember so before heading out I mapped it out on Google, and was surprised to see that Google thought it was going to take me an hour and 20 minutes to get home! I never thought it took me that long, but then I rarely pay close attention, if you asked me I would have said like 45 minutes to an hour. All I really know is it’s an awesome ride home, and I just have to tell my wife I’m going to be a bit later than normal.

Looking bad, not a bad way to spend some time. Maybe I should slow down and enjoy it more?

Looking bad, not a bad way to spend some time. Maybe I should slow down and enjoy it more?

So in the interest of Science I made note of the time before heading home and thankfully I remembered to look at the time when I got home.

Heh, google drives slow! I did it in an hour, and I stopped 3 different times. Once for these pictures, once for moving the 6 lbs of cat food out of my back pack and into my tail pack, and once to park and wait for road construction to let us past.

Note: there were more pictures… but in a phone software update/failed backup they were lost. =(

The silver #ducati is treating me well.

A post shared by Scott Otte (@motocynic) on

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The long way home, google is slower than I am

  1. dharmaanchor says:

    Google did the same thing to me this weekend; a trip they claim takes and hour and twenty eight minutes took me about fifty some odd minutes not speeding…just enjoying the curves more than google does apparently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

