A Curious Case of Crankcase Karma

A strange and awesome thing happened on the internet the other day. But first some back story…

When I started riding in 2006 I was lucky to hang out with a bunch of other Ducati Monster riders. A great group of people who were very supportive and despite their reputation big fans of full gear and safe riding. In the following years we’ve all drifted apart, marriages, kids, other motorcycles etc, I still consider them my extended motorcycling family so when something major happens I share it on the forums.

So of course this is what I did a couple of weeks ago when a poorly installed master link broke my new engine and my heart. I linked my blog to the forum taking the opportuninty to curse my bad luck and, to be honest, look for some sympathy. I got what I wanted (sympathy and commiseration) but I also got some unexpected help. A fellow user read about my plight and realized he could help since he had the cases for a 620 engine sitting in his garage. He upgraded his Monster to an 800 and he had no need for them anymore. He contacted me and offered them to me. He refused payment, and just let me take them in an amazing act of paying it forward.

This is a picture of me and my new buddy, from here on to be known as Mr. Awesome.

This is a picture of me and my new buddy, from here on to be known as Mr. Awesome.

So I’m on the road to recovery. I dropped off the cases at my mechanics and told them that whenever they had time they could start working on putting my 695 and 620 engines together in a Frankenstein type engine to get me back on the road.

I hope it all works out ok, I am beginning to miss my motorcycle again.

The Cases, without cracks and holes.

The Cases, without cracks and holes.

Much better looking, than the other "new" ones.

Much better looking, than the other “new” ones.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, ducati monster 695, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Curious Case of Crankcase Karma

  1. That’s excellent news, and what fantastic karma! So good to know that there are good people in the world 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Story of the FrankenMonster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

