A Beautiful Place to Die: The Trip that Broke My Heart er Motorcycle

I got up really early, hours before sunrise, since that was the point. I wanted to ride to somewhere cool and watch the sunrise and this was the day to do it. I felt like I needed to do something on the bike that was a little adventurous to break in the new engine and I decided this would do.

I spent sometime searching the internet the night before looking for a good spot to see the sunrise from. After reading through endless places that can only be reached by hiking I found a recommendation for a place in Livermore that was off a barely used road.

It also was off of Mines Rd. which I know I’ve been down once a long time ago in my MINI Cooper S. It was time to do it on a motorcycle.

So there I was, at the local coffee shop at 5 AM filling my insulated bottle with Chai Tea. I then headed down to the local donut shop for an Apple Fritter to eat as I watched the sunrise.

I was all set and on the road to hopefully beat all the Bay Area traffic as I headed East to the foothills. I made good time, rarely needing to be a motorcycle to do so, since I was heading away from the peninsula.

Panorama Sunrise Sept 2014 with Monster

I got to the spot and broke out my breakfast.

It was beautiful.

I was there for about a half hour as the sun slowly rose over the distant hills. I felt recharged and very alive. Almost as if I was saying good bye to something.

It was beautiful.

It was beautiful.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, ducati monster 695, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Beautiful Place to Die: The Trip that Broke My Heart er Motorcycle

  1. dharmaanchor says:

    Times like these, there need to be options other than a like button.

  2. Pingback: A Year Ago: A Sad Day for the Ducati Monster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

