The Short Term Plan: Make do with what I have

I’m still trying to get my head around the fact that my bike is out of action. After months of looking forward to having that new engine put in and waiting for it to be done I had it for just a little over a week before it was killed by a evil chain.

Adding insult to injury I’m driving to work. This sacrifice is necessary since I need to have a service done on the wife’s monster before I start commuting on it. So we took her bike to the shop this past weekend and once that’s done I’ll ride her bike for a while.

The Wife on Her Ducati Monster

The Wife on Her Ducati Monster

I basically need to decide if I want to fix my bike or move on. Money is not abundant so it will be very hard to buy a decent new or used bike. However, throwing even more money at the bike that is pretty worn out is tough.

Nichols Sport Bike thinks that the best possible answer for the least wallet pounding is to use the cases from my 620 engine and move all the innards from the 695 to the old cases.

There are two potential problems with this plan. One is that the old cases… are old and that engine was leaking oil pretty bad, we really don’t want to put a glorified oil sieve back on if we don’t have to. The other problem is that this would be fairly labor intensive, they think it will take 10-15 hours. Which at the hourly shop rate won’t be too cheap.

What to do… what to do?

Roads like this demand being in control, otherwise what's the point.

Roads like this demand being in control, otherwise what’s the point.

I’m just glad I’ll be on two wheels again soon.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

