How My Monster Died: Bad Luck and Bad Mechanics

Having a chain break is one of those things that can happen on a motorcycle, but with maintenance and no bad luck it shouldn’t ever happen.
Now I’m not amazing when it comes to chain maintenance, but I do keep any eye on mine, and do what I can with out having a proper garage to take care of it really well. Generally this means they don’t last as long and I end up replacing them every 10 – 15k miles.
Since my usual Ducati Mechanic (Nichols Sport Bike) is so far away I have just gone to my local motorcycle shop to get new chains. For the first several thousand miles this wasn’t much of a problem.
However, on the chain before this last one I got a call from Nichols while doing a service on my monster. The wanted to tell me that the clip on the master link was missing and wondering if they put the chain on, they were quite worried about it. I said that they had not and that my local shop had put the chain on. Nichols said they would fix it and put some silicon on it to make sure it did not come off again.
Thinking this was a once in a lifetime mistake from my local shop I went there again a couple of months ago to get another chain. Honestly it was about a year between the missing clip and getting new chain and I didn’t think of it. Especially since it ended up being a non event with Nichols finding and fixing it.
Sadly, when the same thing happened again I wasn’t so lucky and it ended up costing me a brand new engine. The chain was in good condition, just missing the master link, I looked for it on the side of the road, but did not find it. I’m not sure what to do, I’m sure it’s the chain that failed and since something similar already happened to me I’m pretty sure it’s my local shops fault. Nothing I can prove, but…

Looks like we found the weakest link.

Looks like we found the weakest link.

Needless to say I won’t be going back to my local shop for a new chain ever again.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How My Monster Died: Bad Luck and Bad Mechanics

  1. rjbuxton says:

    Bad luck indeed. There is no excuse for shoddy work, especially considering the value and sentiment tied up in a customers vehicle. Doubtless, if they continue this way, they will go out of business.

  2. Really sorry to hear about your Monster, mate. Mechanics are really hit or miss. Not that it helps you any but I’ve had the worst time finding a place I trust here in Melbourne. I don’t know Ducati’s at all, but I replaced the chain and sprockets myself on my Honda CBR250 before selling it. It’s not especially difficult as long as you have a torque wrench. Fortunately, I have a couple neighbours that have every tool under the sun (even his own forklift!). Hope it gets better from here.

  3. Pingback: Another Year of Motorcycling: 2014 in Reveiw | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. Pingback: A Year Ago: A Sad Day for the Ducati Monster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

