My Ducati Monster 620 er 695

I’ve had my Ducati Monster back for a week and I have to say that I had no idea how much I was going to miss it.

It’s running great. Lots of the little things that were bugging me about the older engine are gone. Of course the oil light still flashes at me, confirming my thoughts that it is an electrical gremlin and not an actual oil pressure thing, since it is doing the same thing with a completely different everything else.

 

The old... and very sad looking 620 engine.

The old… and very sad looking 620 engine.

The new and very Clean 695 engine.

The new and very Clean 695 engine.

A lot of people have asked me if I’ve noticed it making more power, truth is I haven’t really. It does feel like it has tons of torque, but after riding the R6 for a week the L twin seems like a torque monster.

I have definitely come to the conclusion after riding the bike home the long way three times, that on real roads I’m just as fast (if not faster) on my Monster than I was on the R6.

My only real complaint is that my Monster 695 seems to be much thirstier than my 620. You can go to my Fuelly page and see the dramatic drop.

Fuelly

Basically from close to 50 mpg to low 40’s. Yikes. I’ve been trying hard to drive a slow as possible to see if I can improve it, but I’m not making much progress.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Ducati Monster 620 er 695

  1. Pingback: Every Little Thing Wrong With the FrankenMonster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

