A story from my stay in the Hospital (ages ago I’m fine)

2010 September, and I was flying down the road, thanks BMW. Thinking back, I am still amazed that I was not hurt much worse. I couldn’t walk, but besides my broken leg and arm there wasn’t a scratch on me. I did not spill a drop of blood after coming off a motorcycle at highway speeds. My epidermis was completely intact.
That is amazing to me.

I was really happy about this reading material my family brought me... they doubted the wisdom of the choice.

I was really happy about this reading material my family brought me… they doubted the wisdom of the choice.

The same couldn’t be said for the guy who came in later. Also a motorcycle accident, maybe that is why they thought we should share a room. I couldn’t see him, I wasn’t watching as he came in and they had the curtain up between us. I could however, hear him talking to his friends, family and the doctors.
Apparently he crashed while getting off the freeway. He hit a patch of gravel and went down. It was a low side, not much of a crash really, simply sliding along, doesn’t sound that bad… oh wait he wasn’t wearing any gear except a helmet.

From what I could tell, he wouldn’t be using his hands for months, they had to reattach one of his fingers that was hanging on by tendons. The rest of him wasn’t much better, I know he couldn’t lie on his back.
I know how hard it is to recover from an accident, not walking without assistance for nearly 4 months was very difficult emotionally as well as physically. I can’t even imagine what it was like for him, not able to use his hands for a similar length of time. I never heard much more, they moved him to another room the next day, and I had my own recovery to occupy my mind. I do hope it all worked out.

So if you ever wonder why I wear gear, that’s it. One night in a hospital, two patients, two very different outcomes. I can say with complete confidence that if my fellow patient had been wearing gear his hospital stay might not have even been needed, I guarantee it would have been shorter.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding, Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A story from my stay in the Hospital (ages ago I’m fine)

  1. codyriver says:

    Something to be reminded of when this hot weather tempts you to go with less. Thanks

  2. Pingback: A story from my stay in the Hospital (ages ago I'm fine) | operation CDL

  3. ATGATT, man! ATGATT! Better to sweat than to bleed!

Leave a Reply

