MotoCynic on: Garage Queens – I don’t think I’ll ever make enough money to not ride a bike I own

When walking back to my office after lunch the other day I came across this gem. I immediately took some pictures.

It's a very pretty motorcycle.

It’s a very pretty motorcycle.

It’s a nice looking bike and a classic Ducati, the supersports had a long and glorious history with Ducati and made most famous (in my opinion) by Hunter S. Thomsons “Song of the Sausage Creature“.

I spend several minutes admiring the bike, but then I saw something that that I think you should never see on a bike made most likely over 15 years ago. An odometer with less than 9000 miles on it.

I’m going to come clean here, initially I was going to write a post and disparage the owner for having so few miles on a motorcycle that was so old. I’m a big believer that motorcycles are made to be ridden. So when I took a picture of his dash, it was because I wanted to show how few miles he had on the bike.

You can see the number on the headstock giving the edition number

You can see the number on the headstock giving the edition number

However, when I sat down to write this I decided that I should try and figure out what year the bike was made. Mainly because I did not want to tease the owner about putting so few miles on a bike over 15-20 years and be wrong about how old it was.

I sat down and looked at the photo of the bike, then read the wikipedia article on Supersports. When I read about the limited edition Superlights and looked at the picture again I realized that this bike was more than just a Supersport. I then looked again at my picture of the dash, and there it was the edition number on the headstock.

This bike parked in the alley near my office was #923 of the 953 Superlights that Ducati made from 1992-93. According to the internet only about 200 were brought to the United States. Given this, I’m giving this guy a bit more of a pass on having so few miles on the bike. Clearly it’s a “Garage Queen” primarily there to look good and take out for the occasional lunch on sunny summer days. I’m not sure if I’ll ever have the money or the space to have something that I would ride so infrequently. In general I think it is a waste of a vehicle, but to each is own. Someday maybe I’ll have my equivalent in the garage, I will still put more miles on it than 500 or so a year.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

