Camping at Fox Hill: How I do it

This past weekend I went to Laguna Seca Raceway to watch the World Superbike races. I’ve now been to the track over a half dozen times and camped there most of them. I remember the first year we went in 2007 and desperately trying to find any information on camping at Fox Hill. There was very little out there and I remember being quite nervous about being able to find a spot to camp. It ended up working out fine but I thought I would write something up about how my friends and I do it so there was more information on the internet for others who might want to know about it before they go.

Track Map of Laguna Seca

Track Map of Laguna Seca

Fox Hill is exactly that, a hill in the middle of the track. Roughly between corners 4,5 and 6. You get to it through a parking lot and then on to a dirt road which was very intimidating when I rode it the first time. There are no marked campsites on this hill, it’s just first come first served, just try and find a flat spot for your tent.

Which there are generally enough, it’s much easier to find a good campsite during a WSBK weekend than a MotoGP weekend, just less people to compete with.  We try and arrive early but, nearly always camp in the same spot.  Which is just down the hill a bit, over looking the parking lot and toward the other big hill that the corkscrew is on.

Our "campsite" this year.

Our “campsite” this year.

Normally there is a large water truck up there for your water needs, this year however there was not so I’m not sure what we would have done if we decided to cook. However, since we’ve never cooked there it was not a big deal. Half the fun of going to Laguna Seca is going to Monterey Saturday night and trying to find somewhere to eat that isn’t an hour or more wait. (We’ve had good luck just going to nearby Pacific Grove.) The only bathrooms on Fox Hill are portable toilets, which thankfully don’t get that bad since they’re out of the way for everyone but Fox Hill Campers. Showers however are really far away, and honestly I just wait till I get home on Sunday. Part of camping is being dirty…

My favorite thing to do though is to sit on the hill Saturday night, drink a bottle of wine and watch the fog roll in over the hills from the pacific ocean. Then it’s off to bed with anticipation of the races on Sunday. Be prepared to be woken early by the roar of motorcycles or by the announcers on the loud speakers.

Over all I enjoy camping on Fox Hill, it’s very basic, but that has never bugged me. If I wanted luxury I would just stay in a hotel.

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, Motorcycles, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Camping at Fox Hill: How I do it

  1. jfurm says:

    Thanks for the write up! I’m planning on going down this July with some friends from Vancouver BC and your blog helped us choose fox hill as our place to camp

    • MotoCynic says:

      You are welcome! I’ll see you on the Hill.

      One of the reasons I wrote this was because the first time I was getting tickets to camp at Fox Hill there was so little information about it. I figured that hopefully if I wrote something that maybe a savvy internet search would find it and give people some more information.
      Cheers!

  2. Dean McKnight says:

    THANKS FOR THE INFO! MY SON AND TWO FRIENDS ARE PLANNING ON CAMPING THERE TOO. i CALLED TODAY TO ASK ABOUT 3 BIKES AND THEY SAID NO. MAYBE HE CAN FIND SOMEONE THERE BY THEMSELVES THAT WILL LET HIM PARK HIS BIKE BY THEIR TENT. HAVE A GREAT TIME! DEAN

  3. Pingback: Laguna Seca WSBK is This Weekend! | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

