A Recap of June: Living the Moto Life

Sometimes you can almost have too much motorcycling stuff going on.

Almost.

Lately it seems I’ve been doing nothing but stuff motorcycle related, well outside of working for a living.  Strangely enough not much of what I’ve been up to with the motorcycling has ended up here on my Blog.

So what is all this motorcycle stuff that I have been up to and maybe not sharing with you my loyal readers?

Well to start there is the fact that as you know my younger brother took the MSF class and is learning how to ride. Since he passed the class we’ve been working together in parking lots practicing those skills so we both feel like he’s ready to ride on the streets with all those texting drivers. We’re getting much closer, but still have some work to do. Mostly because we haven’t been able to get out as often as we would like.

My brother, learning how to ride around in circles.

My brother, learning how to ride around in circles.

Additionally I’ve been working with another friend who got his liscence early this year and has been racking up miles on his Honda 250. He’s ready to start riding in the twisties and we’ve done a few rides. Slowly teaching him the basics to navigating a corner at speed. Hopefully we’ll get him out to a track day soon for some formal training.

On the way home after a good morning in the hills.

On the way home after a good morning in the hills.

Yet another friend who lives in New York needed me to help him get a motorcycle he owns from the San Francisco Bay Area down to Southern California. Sounds like an awesome road trip right? Not to be since the bike in questions is not running as well as we might hope so it needed to be shipped. I’ve never done this, but luckily it wasn’t that hard and now the bike is on it’s way to Sunny San Diego.

Now at a home where it will get lots of love, will be missed though.

Now at a home where it will get lots of love, will be missed though.

One thing I did that actually got talked about was go for a ride into San Francisco’s Dogpatch Neighborhood and get some great photo’s of my Monster near Pier 70. This was a fun morning on the motorcycles with my wife which I wrote about a few weeks ago.

A nice Saturday morning with the Lovely Wife and Monsters

A nice Saturday morning with the Lovely Wife and Monsters

Lastly and something that I will most definitely be going into more detail about is that I’ve been looking for solutions for my aging Ducati Monster 620. The clutch is slipping more often now, and at my last service there was some metal flakes in the oil. It’s begining to look that 75,000 miles is as long as this engine is going to last. The clutch is pretty expensive to replace, apparently they’re not easy to do and not cheap in parts either. So I’m struggling with spending the money to do that on such an old engine.

So I’ve been looking for a used engine to replace it. I think I’ve found it and I’ll know more next week. It’s from a 2007 695 Ducati Monster, with about 1000 miles on it. It will swap in pretty easily and hopefully keep me motoring for several more years before I need to worry about it again. Like I said I’ll discuss this more when I’ve finished looking into it.

Now, I’m ready for July!

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Gear, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

