A Morning on Motorcycles with the Wife

Saturday I went out on the motorcycles with my Lovely Wife for the first time in a while. I wanted to get some new pictures of me on the Monster, as well as of just the Monster. She wanted to look for a location to do a photo shoot for a fashion line she’s working on.

The Lovely Wife gets ready to ride again.

The Lovely Wife gets ready to ride again.

It was fun riding with her again, although since it had been so long I tended to worry more than I need to about her, often going too slow.

We rode up to San Francisco to the Pier 70 area, which is in a state of decadent urban decay. The nearby neighborhood of Dogpatch is clearly being claimed by the techies moving up to the City and all sorts of boutique shops dot the area. The wife and I had fun motoring around and taking pictures, although since it was so nice out we quickly got a bit uncomfortable in the sunshine with our gear on.

It got warm in the sun in front of the old steam powerhouse.

It got warm in the sun in front of the old steam powerhouse.

On the way home I was nearly taken out by an overly agressive car driver, which was a bit scary.

Lunch at our favorite local burrito place made up for it though.

Over all a great morning.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Morning on Motorcycles with the Wife

  1. rjbuxton says:

    That was just a standard ‘not looking’ manoeuvre by the car. He was indicating throughout his move and probably realised his error and slammed on the brakes to let you pass. This seems to be a common reaction by motorists, who assume you have the reactions of a cat and are only six inches wide. On your own part, it looks as if you might have grabbed the throttle without checking the danger points. These things are sent to remind us that we’re fallible and all too mortal. I’d love to know what happened next?

    • MotoCynic says:

      Yeah, just a typical SMIDSY. Wouldn’t be blog worthy except I had video =)

      I saw him with his blinker on, but made the mistaken assumption he was getting over for the next exit which is quite close (1/4 mile). I certainly wasn’t expecting him come through to get off.

      Nothing really happened after the video. He flipped me off (which you can’t see in the video) and drove off.
      Idiot drivers. =/

  2. Pingback: A Recap of June: Living the Moto Life | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

