MotoCynic on: What Should a Motorcycle Be Able to Do

I love motorcycles, pretty obvious right… I mean I do write a blog on the things. Over the years and many miles I’ve formed a few opinions about them. Motorcycles should be able to do a certain things, otherwise, they’re just not worth the time.

In my mind a motorcycle should be able to do the following.

  1. Accelerate faster than any car that costs less than $50,000
  2. Be able to stop as quickly as it can given the fact that it has only two small rubber hoops to do it with
  3. Be able to execute a 90 degree turn at 30+mph (which requires a certain amount of ground clearance)
  4. Be comfortable for at least an hour long ride

I don’t think I’m asking too much since most motorcycles can easily do these things. Some built to a specific purpose might have trouble with one of these. It’s once you start having problems with more than one of these that I really start to question what the point of it is. I think motorcycles are meant to be ridden, used for going places. Most definitely for going places other than the coffee shop to show off. (It’s OK to do that once in a while)

Making 30mph look as fast as possible.

Making 30mph look as fast as possible.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

