Eight Years Later

It’s hard to decide when exactly the anniversary of my starting motorcycling is. Is the first time I rode a motorcycle around a parking lot or maybe when I bought my first motorcycle? The first crash?

September of 2006 one of our first rides down Highway One

September of 2006 one of our first rides down Highway One

I’m going to go with when I took my MSF (Motorcycle Safety Foundation) Class. I’m a pretty big believer in getting proper training (followed by lots of practice) so it’s as good a choice as any I think. Strange though that I haven’t thought of this as a date to remember until now. However, as I was helping my brother practice after he passed his MSF class the other day I found myself really having to think about things I do so subconsciously (like starting my bike) that it made me think about how long I had been doing them. So I came here and looked at the blog, went to the beginning and figured it out how long it has been.

It was today eight years ago that my wife and I passed our MSF class and started down this road. Eight years and we’re closing in on 100,000 miles traveled on two wheels. (about 95k+) That’s averaging close to 12,000 miles a year. Not too shabby.

Most of this journey is chronicled in this blog, certainly the lows are… every crash and every setback has been written about. Most of the highs too, certainly the big trips have at least been mentioned though they may not have gotten the write up they deserved.

All of this reminiscing has made me think that soon I’ll have to write up a summary of how and why I got into this whole motorcycling thing. Of course I might have done this already, but in the eight years of riding and blogging the memory gets a big hazy on the details.

The Wife on Her Ducati Monster

The Wife on Her Ducati Monster

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eight Years Later

  1. I take my anniversary as the day I competed my learners training 🙂 I enjoy reading your blog, thank you!

  2. Here is to another 100,000 miles……

Leave a Reply

