The Best Modification on My Monster (ever?)

Best Modification ever.

Best Modification ever.

If there was one thing I was worried about before I left on my trip to Portland last month it was the battery on my cellphone lasting. Between using it for music to keep me from dying of boredom and as a camera to take pictures and chronicle the ride I also still needed it to have enough battery to actually use it as a phone if I got stuck somewhere. I have looked at several battery packs over the last several months, but when I mentioned it to a friend he looked at me like I was crazy and said that the battery on my bike would be less of a hassle to drag around and would charge itself. I thought about this for a minute and then I went out and added a USB charger to my bike.

It worked perfectly. There was a minute on my last day that I thought something was wrong with it, but that turned out to be the cord going from it to my phone (which was getting quite old). I have to say that being able to charge my electronics on my bike was a huge relief. Knowing that at night while camping I could call my wife and talk as long as I wanted since I could charge it the next day was awesome. The best part of it all was that it was super easy. I just used the same SAE stuff I use for my heated vest and attached the USB adapter and moved it closer to my head stock where my phone rests.

Definitely one of the best modifications I’ve made in a long time to the bike.

20140508-125706.jpg

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
Image | This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Best Modification on My Monster (ever?)

  1. Congrats! I’ve definitely thought about it myself but never gotten around to it. I picked up a solar power battery pack that fits nicely into the gps pocket on my tank bag and have stuck with that. Can you use your heated gear at the same time?

    • Cynic13th says:

      I haven’t tried to use the heated gear at the same time, and would need a another SAE plug. Not sure if the battery and alternator could handle it, though the phone doesn’t draw that much power at all. Though it’s only needed on long trips and I’m not sure I’d want to be on a long trip where I needed constant heated gear =) If it’s that cold for that long I think I would have other problems. (like freezing to death)

  2. Pingback: MotoCynic Guide: Touring on Ducati Monster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: Getting Ready For Death Valley | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

