Random Guy on Street has Opinion

This was going to be another little story about the trip and the random people I met along the way. Once I wrote it down however I realized that the story itself isn’t really that interesting, it’s what it made me feel and think. So first the story, then I’ll explain.

I was in Eugene riding in circles near the University trying to find the motorcycle parking that my cousin told to me about. I really didn’t want to have to pay for parking if I could avoid it, but it’s amazing how vague a street intersection can be when your looking for something. Plus everything seemed to be one way streets going the opposite direction of where I wanted to be going. Most likely I was tired after a long day of riding with nearly 500 miles covered so far.

I pulled up to the curb to orient myself before trying to take another stab at finding parking and send my cousin a text letting him know I was close so he could meet me. I sent the text and was putting my gloves back on (damn touch screens) when some guy on a bicycle pulls up next me and said something.
“What?” I asked since I couldn’t hear him the first time.
“Going on a trip?” He asked. I wanted to say no and say I just liked to ride around with my sleeping bag, but knew that wasn’t going to be what he wanted.
“I’m on one.” I replied, “I’m from San Francisco.”
“You should get a more comfortable bike.”

My Gloves were on and I really didn’t want to give him my initial response…
so instead I just said.
“This one’s fine.”

And then …Vrooom.

I was almost home yesterday evening, but I had to stop and get this picture.

I love this bike and will ride it until it can’t take it anymore.

 

There is so much weird about this short conversation that is hard to know where to start. However, the point I really want to make is that sometimes people worry too much about what kind of bike they ride and not enough about just riding. Would I have been more comfortable on a Harley or a BMW than my Ducati on my Portland trip… sure. Would I have had as much fun? Maybe?

The real thing is I have a Ducati,  I did the trip on it and it was awesome. Way more awesome than waiting to buy a BMW or whatever that random dude thought I should be doing the trip on. Sitting on my couch is way more comfortable than any motorcycle but my couch is also crap on a twisty road. Everything is compromise.

Just take what you have and make the most of it. If it’s running and will do the trip it’s good enough. Plus you get some stories that way.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding, Story, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Random Guy on Street has Opinion

  1. Funny… we have all had similar conversations about different subjects like that. I always want to say something profound and smart but I can’t ever think of anything until down the road. I always wonder about these people and what they are really thinking. Some are probably just making conversation and some just running their mouth. A comment prompted this post.
    http://www.thetexasrambler.com/2013/11/25/thats-for-people-who-cant-read-maps/

    Good post… Ride safe…

  2. Pingback: Portland Trip 2014: Day Two | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: The Portland Trip: North To Portland | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

