Taking a step back

I would like to encourage everyone who reads this to step back and appreciate how some of the things you do everyday are just amazing.

This is especially true if you ride a motorcycle.

Just because I ride to work every morning doesn’t mean riding a motorcycle is ever mundane. It can become so,¬†like everything in life that you do a lot. With repetition comes comfort and while this is fine it does one good to try and shake yourself out of this.
This morning I had some help.
Out in the world riding to work as the sun rose over the hills and alone in my head things clicked. The ride became something more than commuting to work. It became a flight through the hills and I just was there in the moment loving it all.
The wind: the feel and the sound of it. My motorcycle: the speed and the vibrations of the engine. The sky: in its predawn light.
I don’t think I could ever give this up.

20140509-074843.jpg

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taking a step back

  1. Agreed. Life is to short to take things for granted.

  2. Island Rider says:

    Right on. I can share that feeling! Sometimes the vibes just line up. It’s why we ride! Nice post.

  3. steve ford says:

    Amen !

Leave a Reply

